Spring 2023

All Together

In 2022, the Glucksman teamed up with UCC Failte Refugees Society to run a yearlong project with young asylum seekers called All Together. This is a project that provides creative opportunities for young asylum seekers living in the rural, isolated Direct Provision centre in Clonakilty, West Cork. The project supports young asylum seekers to work with third level students and with invited artists to create innovative artworks that will bring their voice and views into the public realm. Following the European Solidarity Corps Art in Action project in 2019, UCC Failte Refugees Society worked with Cork Migrant Centre to identify the young people in the Cork region that are in the greatest need of extracurricular activities, positive opportunities and creative experiences. The All Together project has the twin objectives of providing meaningful, creative experiences for this disadvantaged community and increasing the visibility of refugees and migrants in society. The teenagers lead on all aspects of the project, making decisions on art mediums, themes and on the final outcome.

The teenagers, students and artists are currently working together on an exciting outcome moment for UCC Refugee Week 2023.

Project Team: Olivia O'Keeffe, Marta Correia, Ghufran Albander, Kate O'Sullivan, Sinead McSweeney.

Project supported by Claire Coughlan, Helen O’Keeffe and Tadhg Crowley.

A European Solidarity Corps Project funded by Léargas.